Wednesday, June 23, 2010

If You Loved the Twilight Series, You Will Love This New Book

Well technically, this book isn't new. It came out last summer but it was recommended to me by Barnes and Noble the other day and I bought it on the spot. You know me and my Young Adult Fiction. I am a sucker for it :-)

The book is called Shiver and it is by Maggie Stiefvater


After I finished reading Eclipse for the 5th time, I went in search of another young adult series that could possibly live up to Harry Potter and Twilight. Obviously, that is a pretty tough task for any writer, especially given the overwhelming success of both series due to the movies. But when Barnes and Noble suggested I might like Shiver, I read the synopsis and was sold.

Its your average human-girl-meets-werewolf-boy story, but with some new and exciting twists. The author's attention to detail and character development are fantastic. I will admit that it took me a few chapters to really get invested in the main characters, Grace and Sam, but once I reached that point there was no turning back. I am already starting to envision who will play them in a movie :-)

I don't want to give anything away to those who want to read the book, but I will say that the ending is a bit of a cliff hanger. But don't worry because the second installment in this series, called Linger, comes out this July!! But sadly, we will have to wait a whole year for the third and final installment, called Forever, that will be released in Summer 2011. All three books have been picked up as movie options so I am very excited to see what will become of this series.

If you want to read more about the author and/or her books...you can check out her website and live journal here. Happy Hump Day everyone!!

5 comments:

  1. HALLELUIAH!!

    I am obsessed with Harry Potter and Twilight:) I've been looking for another series to read, and I'm going to check this out! Thanks :)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I still have not read Twilight yet and my husband has read it twice. But I can't wait for the new movie next week!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I was hooked on the FIRST chapter, read it in one night! Loved it and my niece went out today and bought it and loves it so far too...Makes you want to grrrowwwl!

    ReplyDelete
  4. I'm on it - thanks for the suggestion! Have you read The Hunger Game series? Another young adult series that will suck you in!

    ReplyDelete
  5. Stick with the running it does get easier after some time. I have been doing it for 6 months and really enjoy running now.
    I loved the Twilight series and now am reading Ann Brashares My Name is Memory. It was receommneded for those who like the Twilight series. It will have 3 books but just the one published so far and it is really good. I have ordered Shiver so hope to get that soon.

    ReplyDelete